Kindle Unlimited is a borrowing subscription for digital titles, while Audible is a membership built around purchasing audiobooks with credits. Readers who want to borrow digital books, magazines, and selected audio across devices should pick Kindle Unlimited. Listeners who want permanent ownership of specific audiobooks should pick an Audible Premium membership plan.
The two services publish different amounts of detail about what happens when a subscription ends.
Comparing Kindle Unlimited and Audible on Features and Ownership
The main difference between the services is title ownership. An Audible Premium membership issues credits that buy permanent access to specific audiobooks, whereas Kindle Unlimited grants unlimited access to millions of digital titles.
The following table compares the details published on Amazon’s and Audible’s own pages, with the Kindle Unlimited price taken from DealNews (May 2026).
| Feature | Kindle Unlimited | Audible |
|---|---|---|
| Primary Media | Digital books, audiobooks, comics, and magazines | Audiobooks |
| Stated Catalog Size | Over 5 million digital titles (page body); over 4 million books, audiobooks, comics, and magazines (Memberships menu) | Plus Catalog size not published on the pages fetched |
| Audio Access | Thousands of audiobooks to listen to | Audible credits for marked titles plus an included catalog |
| Monthly Pricing | $11.99 per month per DealNews (May 2026); Amazon page states no monthly price | $0.99 per month for 4 months for Prime members on 2026-10-02, then $8.99 thereafter |
| Ownership on Cancellation | Unpublished on fetched pages; borrow policies not confirmed | Purchased titles stay in your Library; included catalog titles lock; unused credits are lost |
| Supported Platforms | Any device via Kindle App and Audible listening | iOS, Android, Fire tablets, Fire TV, Apple Watch, Wear OS, Alexa, Meta AI glasses, web |
| Free Trial | Offered on the sign-up page; length not stated there | Regular trial terms not on the pages fetched |
| Credits | No credit system described on the Kindle Unlimited page | 1 or 2 credits a month, or 12 or 24 upfront on annual plans |
| Credit Expiry | Not applicable | 12 months after issue or on cancellation; App Store and Google Play credits do not expire |
| Returns | Not stated on the pages fetched | Returning a credit purchase restores the credit; return window not confirmed |
| Gifting Credits | Not applicable | Credits cannot be gifted or transferred |
| Borrow Limit | Titles at a time not published on the pages fetched | Not applicable |
| How to Cancel | Not stated on the pages fetched | On desktop: your name, Membership details, Cancel membership, Confirm cancellation |
Kindle Unlimited Catalog Claims and Cost Details
The Kindle Unlimited sign-up page carries the tagline “Unlimited Reading. Unlimited Listening. Any Device.” and invites readers to start a free trial. However, the exact length of that free trial is not published on the page fetched from the site.
Amazon presents conflicting catalog counts on the exact same page. The body copy claims access to over 5 million digital titles featuring best sellers, popular series, and classics. Meanwhile, the site Memberships menu on that page states the service includes over 4 million digital books, audiobooks, comics, and magazines.
The subscription also includes magazine subscriptions and thousands of Great on Kindle eBooks to borrow. Audio listeners receive access to thousands of audiobooks with Kindle Unlimited, though whether these use Audible Narration or Whispersync is not stated on the pages fetched.
Amazon does not publish a standard monthly price on its main sign-up page. Third-party reporting from DealNews lists the Kindle Unlimited standard US price at $11.99 per month as of May 2026. The official borrow limit for active titles and what happens to those titles upon cancellation are not published on the pages fetched.
Audible Membership Pricing and Credit Expiration Policies
Audible’s Premium membership plans are built around recurring credits. The Audible memberships page displayed a Prime Member Exclusive offer on 2026-10-02 priced at $0.99 per month for 4 months plus a $20 Audible credit, moving to $8.99 per month thereafter under specific terms. The standard non-Prime monthly price and regular free-trial terms were not on the pages fetched.
According to the Audible credit policy, Premium plans distribute 1 or 2 credits monthly, or 12 or 24 credits upfront on annual plans. Each credit buys an audiobook marked with a “1 credit” badge on the storefront.
Credits cannot be transferred or gifted to another person. If you decide to return a title purchased using a credit, Audible returns that credit to your account balance. The return window in days is not confirmed because the return help page was not found.
Credits expire 12 months after the issue date, or upon membership cancellation. A specific exception exists for plans purchased through mobile marketplaces: credits from App Store or Google Play memberships do not expire and stay available after cancellation.
Cancellation Rules and Library Access
Audible publishes its cancellation rules on a help page. The Audible cancellation help page explains that any title bought with a credit or a credit or debit card is yours to keep forever. These purchased audiobooks stay accessible in your Library whether you maintain an active membership or not.
The catalog titles included with an Audible membership behave differently upon cancellation. You lose access to any downloaded titles from the included catalog, and those titles become locked. To listen to them again, you can rejoin Audible or repurchase the titles.
Cancelling Audible also forfeits unused credits, except credits from App Store or Google Play memberships. To avoid losing credits, members must spend their accumulated credits before finalizing the cancellation process.
Desktop cancellation for Audible requires four steps: select your name, click Membership details, choose Cancel membership, and select Confirm cancellation. For Kindle Unlimited, what happens to borrowed titles after cancellation is not stated on the pages fetched.
Device Support and Supported Listening Hardware
Both subscriptions publish which devices they support. The Kindle Unlimited page lists access on any device, specifying options to read with the Kindle App and listen with Audible.
Audible lists device options on its how to listen guide. The Audible app is free on iOS, Android, Fire tablets, and Fire TV. Web streaming is supported on Windows and Mac browsers.
Audible also operates on Apple Watch, Wear OS smartwatches, Alexa-enabled speakers, and Meta AI glasses. The documentation states that Audible works alongside Kindle.
Deciding Between Kindle Unlimited and Audible
Choose Kindle Unlimited if your primary goal is reading digital texts, comics, and magazines on any device with occasional audiobook listening. Kindle Unlimited provides access to millions of titles for an ongoing monthly fee without needing to manage individual title purchases.
Choose Audible if you want to build a permanent library of specific audiobooks that you own after cancelling. Audible Premium plans suit listeners who prefer choosing individual audio releases with monthly credits.
Readers exploring reading formats can compare ebook vs audiobook to understand practical reading differences, or review audiobook vs reading when deciding how to absorb books. Those looking for device hardware can consult our Kindle vs Kobo guide, while gift shoppers can read how to gift an audiobook. Additional reading habit strategies sit in our hub on How to Read More, and Better.